Where the Crawdads Sing

A Novel

Delia Owens

(13)
Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
15,59
15,59
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab 8,99 €

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

ab 15,59 €

Accordion öffnen

eBook

ab 0,99 €

Accordion öffnen

Hörbuch (CD)

23,99 €

Accordion öffnen
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    CD (2019)

    Sofort lieferbar

    23,99 €

    CD (2019)

Beschreibung

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING PHENOMENON
More than 7 million copies sold worldwide
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick
A Business Insider Defining Book of the Decade

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

"A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world."-The New York Times Book Review

"Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut."-People

"This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-Bustle

"A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely."-Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

"Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story."-Entertainment Weekly

"This wonderful novel has a bit of everything-mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina."-Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

"Delia Owen's gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit."-Real Simple

"Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine."-Publishers Weekly

"The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut."-Southern Living

"A nature-infused romance with a killer twist."-Refinery29

"Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives."-Vanity Fair

"Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya's deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures."-Booklist

"This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing."-AARP

"Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time."-ShelfAwareness

"With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!"-Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

"A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud."-Augusta Chronicle

"Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls."-David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Produktdetails

Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 384
Erscheinungsdatum 14.08.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7352-1909-0
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 23,6/16,2/3,5 cm
Gewicht 579 g
Verkaufsrang 3833

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
13 Bewertungen
Übersicht
11
2
0
0
0

Super Buch
von Shirin aus Hannover am 05.04.2021
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Ich hab das Buch gestern zuende gelesen. Ich bin ehrlich anfangs war es irgendwie viel, von der Sprache, aber wenn man etwas mehr gelesen hat, gewöhnt man sich an die “poetische Art” in der das Buch geschrieben wurde. Ich würde es weiter empfehlen!

Bewegend
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Zürich am 20.03.2021
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Eine berührende Geschichte und eine fabelhafte Beschreibung der Natur. Zeitlos.

Carmen Corti
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Hermetschwil-Staffeln am 03.03.2021
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Das beste Buch, das ich in den letzten Jahren gelesen habe! Einfach nur super! Die Geschichte ist spannend, die Natur, die Vögel, das Leben im Marsh perfekt beschrieben.

  • Artikelbild-0