Warenkorb

Seven Days of Us

the most hilarious and life-affirming novel about a family in crisis, Nominiert: Desmond Elliott Prize 2018

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!

The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick.

It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.

Olivia, the eldest daughter, has returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must go into quarentine for seven days. Her mother has decided it's the perfect opportunity to spend some 'sepcial time' together. Her youngest sister wholeheartedly disagrees. Her father isn't allowed an opinion.

When no one can leave the house, seven days for the Birches feels like an eternity.

Especially when they're all harbouring secrets. One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail

'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour

'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i

'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant!' The Unmumsy Mum

'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All

'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras

'It's a cliche to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific' Virginia Ironside

'An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!' Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'Witty and deeply heartfelt' Bestselling author Emily Griffin

'Hornak's wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture - and break - your heart' Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse

'Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home' Booklist starred review

Rezension
LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous! Marian Keyes
Portrait
Hornak, Francesca
Francesca Hornak is a journalist and writer, whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Sunday Times, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, Grazia and Stylist. Her column History Of The World In 100 Modern Objects first appeared in The Sunday Times Style Magazine in 2013 and ran for two years, later becoming a title with Portico. Francesca is also the author of a second non-fiction book, Worry with Mother (Portico).
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 400
Erscheinungsdatum 04.10.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-349-41561-1
Verlag Little, Brown Book Group
Maße (L/B/H) 20/12,8/2,9 cm
Gewicht 280 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,49
bisher 9,99
Sie sparen : 15  %
8,49
bisher 9,99

Sie sparen : 15 %

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Ihr Feedback ist anonym. Wir nutzen es, um unsere Produktseiten zu verbessern. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir Ihnen keine Rückmeldung geben können. Wenn Sie Kontakt mit uns aufnehmen möchten, können Sie sich aber gerne an unseren Kundenservice wenden.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertungen
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

O du fröhliche Familienzeit
von Hortensia13 am 15.10.2018
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

Ich habe dieses Buch in Deutsch gelesen und beziehe mich darauf. Zu Weihnachten kehrt die älteste Tochter Olivia der Familie Birch aus einem Einsatz als Ärztin in Liberia nach Hause zurück. Da sie dem Haag-Virus ausgesetzt war, muss sie aber eine Woche in Quarantäne verbringen und ihre Familie gleich mit. Sieben Tage können s... Ich habe dieses Buch in Deutsch gelesen und beziehe mich darauf. Zu Weihnachten kehrt die älteste Tochter Olivia der Familie Birch aus einem Einsatz als Ärztin in Liberia nach Hause zurück. Da sie dem Haag-Virus ausgesetzt war, muss sie aber eine Woche in Quarantäne verbringen und ihre Familie gleich mit. Sieben Tage können sehr lang sein, wenn man auseinander hockt und seine Geheimnisse zu hüten versucht. Doch das Leben der Birchs wird schlussendlich mehr durcheinander gewirbelt, als es alle erwartet haben. Anfangs stellte ich mir immer wieder die Frage, wieso alle die Quarantäne freiwillig mitmachen, wenn sie solche Probleme miteinander oder mit sich haben. Doch die Geschichte entwickelt sich trotzdem zu einer emotionalen Erzählung mit vielen Wendungen, die überraschen. Das Buch hat wirklich Filmpotential und ich hoffe, dass es auch verfilmt wird. Manchmal würde so eine unausweichliche Situation jeder Familie wirklich gut tun. Emotionale Geschichte über eine Familie, die sich darüber klar werden muss, was wirklich wichtig ist.